Our Fear of Immigrants

As I was reading the annotation from this week, “Our Fear of Immigrants” by Jeremy Adam Smith; I realized that this has been the best annotation I had ever read. I loved this quote “When shaping immigration policy. We should be holding in the front of our minds that we’re talking about real families, real kids, who have hopes and incredible stories.” This is true the main reason why people immigrate from their native countries is because of their families. They come to the United States to make the American dream come true. Immigrants want to help their families, that’s is why they work hard for what they need. This is a country that have many opportunities for those who want to become someone in life. However, they are several people who think that all immigrants are criminals, but I think they should not judge alliens without knowing them. Most of the immigrants want to do everything the correct way but the government does not give them the opportunity to do it. I hope one day the president’s administration change their minds about immigration, and they choose a positive solution that benefits our country.

2 thoughts on “Our Fear of Immigrants

  1. Excellent post. I think that’s one reason the word “alien” has been used. It’s a way to make certain groups feel less than human.

    Like

Leave a comment